Lessons in Life

I think a common thought amongst different religions  is to wonder what is the purpose or meaning of life?  I used to ponder that quite a bit myself.  However, I now can see clearly that  the answer is different for each and every person.  We all have our own lessons that we are meant to learn in our lifetime.  I  know that I have learned several valuable lessons that have helped me get and stay on my path in life. I am sure there will be many more lessons along the way.  Have I mentioned that I have four children (all under the age of 12).  My house is full of joyful and not-so-joyful noise at different times of the day.  My second, third, and fourth child are relatively close in age.  My thirties are all a fog mixed with sleep deprivation.  🙂  When my children were toddlers (and I’m sure I was pregnant-yes, yes, number four was on the way…) I remember being in one of my son’s  Little Gym class.  There was a mother in there who I have never forgot.  She also had four children and she was so happy…..so patient…..so well rested.  🙂  I left thinking a lot about her and later told my friend how this mother truly seemed to “celebrate” her children.  I started to self-reflect if I was celebrating  the gifts of children that have been given to me.  I wanted to be one of those ultra happy people who never seemed to tire.  I wondered how someone became like that!

Did I mention the first three of my children are boys?  Yes, I have holes in my walls and beautiful crayon markings all over.  They are rough and tumble and I love them just the way they are.  My fourth was a little girl.  My oldest son has multiple disabilities.  He has truly come into this life with a lot of baggage.  We have had many difficult struggles with him.  But, that’s an entirely different post.  To sum my oldest child up, life simply has been very challenging for him.

However, I am so very thankful for the blessings in my life….for my wonderful children, a terrific husband, and purely awesome friends.  I have also been participating in The Chopra’s Center’s 21 day meditation.  Day 12 really stuck with me.  It was called “Your Grateful Heart.”   The meditation talked about when you experience love in your heart you are committing to living in gratitude.  Living in gratitude reduces negativity and transforms your experiences for you.  This made me think about the lessons in my life that I am meant to understand.  Regardless of your situation or experience, it’s important to be thankful for the opportunity to learn something new in your life.  Wow.  I think that is very powerful!

Back to that ultra happy mom from Little Gym…..I truly now understand.  I AM ultra happy in my life.  I love my children, my family, my friends…….my life.  I have such a strong feeling of abundance in my heart and I feel it just glows.  Each and every day I think about what happened in my day that I am grateful for, or whom I am grateful for.  Believe me, regardless of the day, there are always a lot of thankful moments surrounding me.  The more I notice them, the more I seem to be given.

Remember how I told you my oldest son has multiple disabilities?  We have been through the gammet of doctors, therapists, counselors, medicines, medicines, and even more medicines.  He has A LOT of experience for his 12 years.    He has a deep understanding of spiritual matters as well.  This also should be an entirely different post, but I have to say he is emerging out of his cocoon and letting go of anything he came into this life with.  That would not be possible without MoJo from www.momentumofjoy.com and Maria from www.joyfullyrenewed.wordpress.com .  Combined, they have healed him in ways that doctors, therapists, counselors and medication could not.  I know, without a doubt, that he will be growing and becoming this year what he was meant to be.  The real “him” is inside and we are seeing him with MoJo’s and M’s help.  What a beautiful blessing that is! I am grateful for them every day of my life.

              

Tomorrow we are going to start a Family Gratitude Journal.  I would like the kids to recognize all of the daily blessings that are given to them.  I have no doubt this will be easy for them.  Afterall, I think they are also growing a very grateful heart.

God Bless,

Christina

11 thoughts on “Lessons in Life

  1. You are such an amazing mama and friend. Have I ever mentioned that I am wildly thankful for you??? Maybe once or twice?? ;). Beautiful post lovebug. You are the best.

  2. What a beautiful post! You are so right…… it’s all about attitude, appreciation, patience and gratitude. Your (beautiful) children are so lucky to have such an awakened Mom! 🙂 Time goes by so fast, we never want to wish it away. These years of a houseful of joyful noises are far too precious to waste.

    • You are so right! I think about that daily….I will truly miss them when they are grown and gone. My third son starts Kindergarten soon and I told him I’m already missing him!
      Thank you for your wonderful comment!
      Christina

  3. What a lovely post and you have so much gratitude. Reading through I was struck with how much focus there was on your oldest boys problems and it made me think of Dr, Wayne Dyer and his recent healing for a disorder(life-threatening) During the time of his diagnosis many people focused on the terminal part of the dis-ease. He stopped people, and his mantra was I am well, I am perfect. Today he is healed he is well he is perfect. We are all guilty of the trap focusing our energy on fixing things especially for those we love dearly. Sometimes we have to allow help outside the mainstream to do the work and implement the thoughts I am enough, I am well, I am perfect. I believe the energy work from those wonderful soul workers is right and enough. What a shining light he has and a fabulous journey ahead.
    Side note-Yesterday was mom’s birthday, hope she has not bothered you since. By the way I am still so grateful for what you said and did. I believe in the work you lady’s are doing. Just remember…All is well.

    • So good to hear from you! I LOVE that mantra “I am well, I am perfect.” When he was younger I blindly followed the doctors until we hit a wall. Then I wondered why in the world I was doing that? 🙂 I started focusing more on freeing him completely of all of this extra baggage. I knew it was possible in ways doctors could not. I was able to bring him so far in that healing and then Maria and MoJo picked up the rest. It’s been such a joy to see! To be able to actually SEE the effects of energy healing is truly a miracle. Happy Birthday to your mom! I have not seen her again but I always keep my mind open. You must be noticing all of her signs for you. 🙂 I know she must be thrilled!! I am loving reading your updates on your website. A wonderful path you are paving for yourself! Hugs!
      Christina

Leave a comment